Follow Your Heart

Sometimes it’s just best to get back at it, what you love that is.  Having just passed the Summer Solstice, the weather is warm now.  Like me, my cucumber plants are happy, they thrive in all the sunshine!  And I’m soaking up LOT’S of sun these days….all kinds…..Sandbags at my sister’s, Beach Time with beautiful friends, Sunflowers with mom and Sunsets with my oldest besties.  My neighbor walked a homemade fresh spinach pie over recently.   In my book that’s sunshine!  Delicious!

It’s good to be in a new season.  One where my house is open inviting the breeze to flow through and the birds are singing and everything is green and full of life.  The clouds may show up and the rains may fall (and sometimes we wonder when they’ll move on) but these people and their love and presence in my life ARE my sunshine!  These are the people who’ve known me forever (or at least since 5th grade).   They’re the people who know all the nooks and crannies of my life and they inspire me, always, to follow my heart……and I am so so grateful!

Around here…..

These Red Beauties are ripe for the picking (YES, I know…but I couldn’t resist)!

IMG_6374

And something else I couldn’t resist is an idea I’ve been pondering to work brie cheese into something with eggs….and so, last night for supper I made myself a Kale, Golden Beet and Brie Cheese Frittata……sweet, savory, creamy…YUM!

IMG_6380

IMG_6390

It’s going to be a busy Fourth of July weekend I’m sure for many of us.  I hope there’s plenty of time for gathering around tables of fresh, oh-so-good food with family and friends!  Thought I’d include links to a few sides & salads from previous posts…..XXO, ENJOY!

https://freshandsimple.wordpress.com/2013/03/29/best-baked-beans/
https://freshandsimple.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/green-bean-tomato-salad/
https://freshandsimple.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/lemon-herbed-white-bean-salad/
https://freshandsimple.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/the-power-of-one/

Kale, Golden Beet and Brie Cheese Frittata
6 eggs
1/3 cup milk
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp olive oil
sweet onion slices, approx. 3 very thin swipes across the onion
2 small- medium golden beets, sliced into small rounds, roasted
1 cup kale, gently torn and densely packed down
5-6 slices brie cheese, rind removed
freshly ground pepper, to taste

Roast Beets – by washing peeling and slicing into thin rounds.  Toss with a drizzle of olive oil and roast in a 400 degree oven for 8 minutes until soft.

1. In a medium bowl beat the eggs, milk, salt and freshly ground pepper (according to taste). Set aside. Turn oven on to broil.
2. In a 10 inch cast iron (or oven-safe) skillet heat the olive oil over medium-low heat and sauté the onions for 1 minute.
3. Add the already roasted beets and continue to sauté for about 1 more minute, until the beets are warm.  Next, add the kale and gently toss with the beets and onions for about 1-2 minutes, until kale softens and becomes wilted.
4. Next, add the beaten egg mixture and gently stir a time or two to combine.  Top with the brie cheese slices and then leave it to allow the eggs to set-up, approximately 3 minutes.
5. Transfer the frittata to the oven and place under the broiler to finish setting, approximately 2-4 minutes. Remove once the eggs have fully set and the frittata turns golden brown.

Recipe Originally Inspired By, Veggie Frittata
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle – A Year Of Food Life, Barbara Kingsolver

 

6 responses to “Follow Your Heart

  1. That looks delicious my dear friend!! So thankful for our beach and celebration time this week. Love you!

  2. joan weinrauch

    Happy to see a new post! This looks amazing and sure delicious! You are along with our other dear friends the sunshine in my life too !! Happy we had a lovely sunset to enjoy together and celebrate beautiful you Heidi !!! Love You, Joanie

  3. Patty Bergamini

    Glad to see you are back writing on your post. You are so talented and I truly enjoy reading it. It sounds delicious, but I am not that adventurous to try golden beets yet, LOL. Looking forward to getting together soon. Love ya Heidi…..Patty B.

Leave a Reply

