Garlic Shrimp

So, I’m participating in the 21 Day Meditation Series offered by Deepak Chopra, Oprah and chopracentermeditation.com.   The series is called, Getting Unstuck: Creating A Limitless Life.  Anyone else ever feel stuck!?  I can’t say enough wonderful things about the experience…..the opportunity arrived at the perfect time and I am so so grateful I signed up!  I’m learning (and re-learning) much about gently moving myself forward, and change.  I thought I might share a bit of this and that, a few seeds that have been planted for me, and my greatest take-away so far.  So here it is:

  • When I intentionally begin my day in silence, a period of time to Be Still And Know….Psalm 46:10, or in meditation, my day seems to flow much more effortlessly.  When I do get frazzled or hurried, I seem to return to a centered place more quickly.
  • I can not change what I am not aware of.
  • Meditating raises my awareness.
  • Meditating is hard.  It’s difficult to quiet my thoughts…..but those few absolute quiet and still moments I’m able to capture while meditating, are making a HUGE difference in my rhythm, peace and creativity!
  • When I am aware, I am more responsive and less reactive and I make healthier choices…..for myself and my family.  This might include anything from thinking before I speak, cleaning up the piles of laundry on the basement floor so we can all maneuver more easily, taking time to really listen to someone or trying a new healthy recipe for supper.
  • I’m a better version of myself when I meditate.  I’ve experienced this same thing when I’m practicing yoga. 
  • Sometimes you gotta change your script if you want to get unstuck.  Those “go-to” lines I kept telling myself that weren’t working, needed some tweaking!  And as I changed them …..movement happened….and things started to get done.  It’s a work in progress.
  • Meditation seems to soften things, like conversations and my listening, and even my ability to hold both heartache and joy in the same day.  It works with simpler things too like it helped me realize that one load of laundry at a time, the basement floor that I mentioned above, would get cleaned up and it didn’t have to happen all at once.  I let the job become a “monster” and I got overwhelmed (think Christmas and Easter linens in piles on the floor).  Meditation softened that.
  • Meditation, like so many wonderful tools, is a practice.  There are days I can barely quiet my mind, and others where the silence is much easier.  The more I’m at it, the more I’m learning and I experience the benefit of truly living in the present moment…..One mediation at a time.

And my greatest take-away so far: 

  • Like a tug-of-war competition, every time I get stuck in life it’s because I dig my heels in and resist change. I’m tired of stuck. Change is good!  Life. Is. Change.

I’m so grateful for the gift of this free meditation experience! 

You can find the 21 Day Meditation Series at, chopracentermeditation.com.    Do you meditate?  If so, I’d LOVE to hear your thoughts!

Here’s an awesome shrimp and vegetable dish we’ve been enjoying this Summer.  It’s super easy to assemble, which has been great for the Midwest heat wave we’ve been having!   Namaste….

imageGarlic Shrimp
14-16 medium size shrimp, peeled, cleaned and deveined, tails removed
1/2 yellow squash, cut julienne style
1/2 zucchini, cut julienne style
1/2 cup grape or cherry tomatoes, halved
2 garlic cloves, crushed or finely minced
1/4 tsp dry oregano
1/4 tsp dry basil
1 cup cooked pasta (spaghetti style – whole wheat per preference)
olive oil
Fresh basil leaves
Pinch kosher salt
Fresh lemon juice, optional

  1.  In a bowl combine, cleaned raw shrimp, oregano, dried basil, garlic and pinch kosher salt.  Drizzle gently with olive oil (approximately 1 1/2 Tbsp) and toss until all shrimp are well coated with herbs and olive oil.  Place in refrigerator to “marinate” for 15-20 minutes.
  2. In a non-stick pan, using 1 tsp olive oil, saute the yellow squash and zucchini until crisp tender (approximately 1 minute).  Next, add the tomatoes and continue to saute for 1 more minute.
  3. Add the shrimp and toss together with the vegetables until shrimp turn pink and are fully cooked (approximately 3-4 minutes though time varies).
  4. Finally, add the cooked pasta and gently toss until pasta is also heated.  Top with fresh basil and a squeeze of lemon juice as per preference.
    Serves 2

Recipe Inspired By:
My Friend Mike (a fellow fresh food lover)

5 responses to “Garlic Shrimp

  1. Just made the shrimp dinner!!! Yummy;) thx Heidi! Glad to see ur posts again! I miss you;) Jen

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Can you use shrimp substitute with this recipe?

  3. Joan weinrauch

    Sounds wonderful and easy and I have so many of the neede herbs in my own garden pots . I will let you know when I give it s go and how is your 21 day meditation going ? Love you joanie

Leave a Reply

